IET logo

LAPC 2017

The Loughborough Antennas & Propagation Conference

13 - 14 November 2017 | Loughborough, UK

CPD 18 hours


Marcio Aquino (photo)  

Marcio Aquino

Marcio is a Geodesist with a PhD in Space Geodesy and has carried out research on Global Navigation Satellites Systems (GNSS) for many years.

He currently leads research on mitigation of ionospheric effects on GNSS at the Nottingham Geospatial Institute (NGI) of the University of Nottingham. His main insterests involve system vulnerability to ionospheric disturbances and corresponding countermeasures.

The study of ionospheric variability and scintillation detection/mitigation are currently strong research interests, in particular related to impact on high accuracy GNSS positioning. 

Goutam Chattopadhyay (photo)  

Goutam Chattopadhya

Goutam Chattopadhyay (S’93-M’99-SM’01-F’11) is a Principal Engineer/Scientist at the NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology.

He received the B.E. degree in electronics and telecommunication engineering from the Bengal Engineering College, Calcutta University, Calcutta, India, in 1987, the M.S. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, in 1994, and the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech), Pasadena, in 1999.

He has more than 200 publications in international journals and conferences and holds several patents. He has received more than 30 NASA technical achievement and new technology invention awards. He is a Fellow of IEEE.

Brian Collins (photo)  

Brian Collins

Brian Collins graduated from University College London in 1962 and for much of his career was Technical Director at CSA Ltd, a UK company designing and manufacturing a wide variety of antennas operating at frequencies from 100kHz – 40GHz.

He left CSA in 2003 and after working part-time for Antenova for 10 years now operates his own consultancy company, working on antennas and radio systems.

Brian is an Honorary Visiting Professor in the antenna group at QMUL. He has travelled widely both during his career, and has written more than 70 papers and book chapters on a wide variety of practical antenna topics.

Stephen Harman (photo)  

Dr Stephen Harman

Fellow, Radar & Electronic Warfare, QinetiQ

Stephen has worked at QinetiQ (and its predecessors) for over 25 years, specialising in advanced radar system design. His current role at QinetiQ is the professional lead for radar.

In addition to model based research activities, he has invented, designed and lead teams to develop radars spanning from concept systems to products.
His interests are novel radar architectures, radar waveform design, advanced radar signal processing and radar system management.

He has authored over 100 papers and patents, has chaired the Defence Security and Space Forum in 2016, was the technical lead for the European radar conference in 2011, and has helped organise EuMW and Waveform diversity conferences.

Yi Huang (photo)  

Prof Yi Huang

Prof Yi Huang received BSc in Physics (Wuhan, China), MSc (Eng) in Microwave Engineering (Nanjing, China), and DPhil in Communications from the University of Oxford, UK in 1994.

He has been conducting research in the areas of radio communications, applied electromagnetics, radar and antennas since 1987. His experience includes 3 years spent with NRIET (China) as a Radar Engineer and various periods with the Universities of Birmingham, Oxford, and Essex as a member of research staff.

He worked as a Research Fellow at British Telecom Labs in 1994, and then joined the Department of Electrical Engineering & Electronics, the University of Liverpool as a Lecturer in 1995, where he is now a Chair in Wireless Engineering, Deputy Head of Department, Head of High-Frequency Engineering Research Group and MSc Programme Director.

Talini Pinto Jayawardena (photo)  

Talini Pinto Jayawardena

Talini Pinto Jayawardena is a Research Associate at the University of Bath working in partnership with Spirent Communications under a Knowledge Transfer Partnership. Her current work is on modelling ionospheric scintillation/space weather threats to GNSS that will enable GNSS system testing under realistic ionospheric conditions.

Talini attained her PhD from the University of Bath in 2015, where her research was focused on plasmaspheric imaging for space weather studies; particularly, the development of space-borne GPS instrumentation for plasmaspheric tomography.

She has a background in electronic engineering, graduating from the University of Bath in 2010 with a degree in Electronics with Space Science & Technology MEng (Hons).

Image to follow (image)  

Lluis Jofre

IEEE Fellow. M.Sc. (Ing), 1978, and Ph.D. (Doctor Ing.), 1982, degrees in Electrical Engineering (Telecommunications Eng.), Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (UPC), Barcelona, Spain. 1981- 82 visiting researcher, at the Ecole Superieure d’Eléctricité, Paris, France. Associate Professor (1982) and Full professor (1989) at the Communications Department of the Telecommunication Engineering School (UPC).

1986-1987, visiting Fulbright Scholar at Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta. 2000-01 visiting Professor at the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, Henry Samueli School of Engineering, University of California, Director of the UPC-Telefonica Chair on Information Society Future Trends, member of the Catalan Studies Institute.

His research interests on radio communications and electromagnetic imaging include antennas, electromagnetic scattering and imaging, and system miniaturisation for wireless and sensing industrial and bio applications from microwave to THz frequencies. He has published more than 200 scientific and technical papers, reports and chapters in specialised volumes.

Yiannis Vardaxoglou (photo)  

Yiannis Vardaxoglou

Yiannis C. Vardaxoglou received the BSc degree in Mathematics (Mathematical Physics) in 1981 from the University of Kent at Canterbury and then at the same institution he researched towards a PhD, which he received in 1985.

He joined Loughborough University of Technology in 1988 as a Lecturer, was promoted to Senior Lecturer in January 1992 and in 1998 he was awarded a personal chair. He was the Head and the first Dean of the Electronic, Electrical and Systems Engineering School at Loughborough University from 2006 to 2012.

He established the Wireless Communications Research (WiCR) group at Loughborough University and founded the Centre for Mobile Communications Research. He has pioneered research, design and development of frequency selective surfaces (FSS) for communication systems, Metamaterials and low SAR antennas for mobile telephony and has commercially exploited a number of his innovations.

He has served as a consultant to various industries, holds 5 patents and is the Technical Director/Founder of Antrum Ltd (a University spinout company).

Platinum sponsor

Gold sponsors


Member - from £250

Non-member - from £295

Student - from £275